HomeSports UpdatesMost Division One Clubs Don’t Want 18-Club League - President of Wa...

Most Division One Clubs Don’t Want 18-Club League – President of Wa Suntaa SC

- Advertisement -

Story by Adamu Benin Abdul Karim

Daud Arif, the President and Bankroller of Wa Suntaa SC in an interview with Talk Sports Ghana Podcast has revealed that most Division One Clubs are against the GFA’s decision to exercise Article 81(6) of the GFA statutes.

The article states that ‘the number of delegates representing the Division One League shall be reduced to 18 (down from the current 48) at the latest by the end of the second football season following the adoption of these Statues’.

The young enterprising football administrator whose club plies a lone journey in a national league from the Upper West Region of Ghana, expressed with surety the certainty of he and his other mates’ distaste of applying the new GFA statutes. ‘I can tell you for a fact that the three DOL members representing the DOL clubs are against it. We’ve spoken to our reps and they have our concerns at heart. They’ll speak to the interest of the clubs. Most of us don’t want the 18-club league’, he revealed.

He added  that when article 81(6) of the new GFA statutes is implemented it will disenfranchise several clubs and players, with 30 clubs and over 700 players taken out of job.

‘We want football to be played at every length and breadth of the country. It is only the 48 division one league that can ensure that every region or district that has the capacity to compete is well represented’.

He also hinted of a possible increment of the zones to ease the pressure and financial burden on clubs travelling faraway to other parts of the country, one of such places being the north. He said, ‘we’re sending counter proposals to the FA because new regions have been created to make the DOL four zones. The Northern Zone will be there, where we’ll have Upper West, Upper East, Northern Region and Savanna Regions in a zone. In effect, we’ll see a team from the north represented in the premiership every season. We’ll have four new zones, 12 in each, total 48.”

The FA has formed a five-man committee to lead the processes to ensure extensive engagement and consultations with all stakeholders, the 18-club league will take effect after two seasons upon adopting the new GFA statuses.

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -

Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

error: Content is protected !!